Homeownership

God’s timing means everything. It’s amazing to think how meticulously He shapes our paths. Buying a house can be a long process, and most of the time it is. David’s lease to his apartment is up at the end of September and we were unsure of how we were going to plan a wedding, work full time, and buy a house, plus move him in before the month was over. After praying, discussing with family, and busting our butts, we decided that it would be the best option for us (the low interest rates had a bit of a push), and God couldn’t have timed it better. We also could not have done any of this without family support, our realtor, friends’/co-workers’ advice, and the countless times my mom went with us to the open houses listed in the newspaper.

First rule of business is moving in—most of my stuff will stay at my parents’ house as they will still be my roommates until David and I get back from our honeymoon. David’s whole apartment will need to transition to our new house by the end of this week. We’ve had friends volunteer to help and his parents are coming from Houston as well.  Second order of business is new wood stain on the cabinets; David asks me almost every day “are you sure you want the cabinets darker?” It’s only because he knows how much work it will be and he thinks I will change my mind…not happening. Shout out to my sister for getting me a “honey-do list” marker board for our non-existent refrigerator. I will definitely be using that, just as soon as we purchase our new appliances. Third—my craft room blueprints. Ok, I won’t have blueprints, but I’ll have a craft room that I have designed on a piece of computer paper with a pencil and some measurements that don’t make any sense. Either way, my craft room is happening and on Sundays, while David is watching football, I will be crafting all. day. long. On a serious note, this is just another blessing in which we should give God all of the glory for His constant grace and love through everything we accomplish in life.

I’ve added some pictures of our new home below.

Leave a Reply

